Translating the Twelve: Intro and Hosea 1:1

Over the next few months I’m going to attempt to keep up my Hebrew skills by translating 1-3 verses a day and publishing them here. My goal is to work through “The Twelve” by November 6, 2016. I invite and encourage you to read along and post questions, critiques, and encouragements on my translations and the text itself.

Today’s “Translating the Twelve” is Hosea 1:1

דְּבַר־יְהוָ֣ה׀ אֲשֶׁ֣ר הָיָ֗ה אֶל־הוֹשֵׁ֨עַ֙ בֶּן־בְּאֵרִ֔י בִּימֵ֨י עֻזִּיָּ֥ה יוֹתָ֛ם אָחָ֥ז יְחִזְקִיָּ֖ה מַלְכֵ֣י יְהוּדָ֑ה וּבִימֵ֛י יָרָבְעָ֥ם בֶּן־יוֹאָ֖שׁ מֶ֥לֶךְ יִשְׂרָאֵֽל׃

1. The word of Yahweh which came1 to Hosea, the son of Beeri, during2 the days of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, Hezekiah, the kings of Judah, and during the days of Jeroboam, the son of Joash, king of Israel.

Below I’ll parse the verbs and briefly discuss some of my syntactical choices if I have time and remember.

Footnotes

1. Qal Qtl 3ms היה
2. Temporal ב, as evidenced by the temporal nature of the word I translate “days”. Occurs twice.

Categories: Translating the Twelve | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Translating the Twelve: Intro and Hosea 1:1

  1. brian

    David,
    I’m excited about this blog post series. Thanks for doing it. Do you think you can put the Hebrew up along with your translation?

  2. Yeah, I’ll add that here in a few minutes and make sure to include it going forward.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

