Translating the Twelve: Hosea 2:5-7

Today’s “Translating the Twelve” is Hosea 2:5-7 (2:3-5 in English)

5 פֶּן־אַפְשִׁיטֶ֣נָּה עֲרֻמָּ֔ה וְהִ֨צַּגְתִּ֔יהָ כְּי֖וֹם הִוָּֽלְדָ֑הּ וְשַׂמְתִּ֣יהָ כַמִּדְבָּ֗ר וְשַׁתִּ֨הָ֙ כְּאֶ֣רֶץ צִיָּ֔ה וַהֲמִתִּ֖יהָ בַּצָּמָֽא׃

6 וְאֶת־בָּנֶ֖יהָ לֹ֣א אֲרַחֵ֑ם כִּֽי־בְנֵ֥י זְנוּנִ֖ים הֵֽמָּה׃

7 כִּ֤י זָֽנְתָה֙ אִמָּ֔ם הֹבִ֖ישָׁה הֽוֹרָתָ֑ם כִּ֣י אָמְרָ֗ה אֵלְכָ֞ה אַחֲרֵ֤י מְאַהֲבַי֙ נֹתְנֵ֤י לַחְמִי֙ וּמֵימַ֔י צַמְרִ֣י וּפִשְׁתִּ֔י שַׁמְנִ֖י וְשִׁקּוּיָֽי׃

5. Lest I strip her1 naked and display her2 as on the day of her birth3. Then I will set her4 like the wilderness and I will make her5 like the dry earth when I put it to death6 with thirst.

6. And her children I will not love7 because they are children from adultery.

7. For she committed adultery8 with them and was put to shame9 when she because pregnant by them.10 For she said11, “let me go12 after my lovers13, the ones who give14 me bread and water, wool and linen, oil and refreshment.

Below I’ll parse the verbs and briefly discuss some of my syntactical choices if I have time and remember.

Syntactical Choices

Hopefully I’ll come back to this later

Footnotes

1. Hif yqtl 1cs + 3fs פשט
2. Hif wqtl 1cs +3fs יצג
3. Nif inf cons ילד
4. Qal qtl 1cs + 3fs שים
5. Qal wqtl 1cs + 3fs שית
6. Hif qtl 3fs מות
7. Piel yqtl 1cs רחם
8. Qal qtl 3fs זנה
9. Hif qtl 3fs בוש
10. Qal ptc fs הרה
11. Qal qtl 3fs אמר
12. Qal coh 1cs הלך
13. Piel ptc mp אהב
14. Qal ptc mp נתן

Categories: Translating the Twelve | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

