Translating the Twelve: Hosea 2:14-18

This week’s “Translating the Twelve” is Hosea 2:14-18 (2:12-16 in English)

14 וַהֲשִׁמֹּתִ֗י גַּפְנָהּ֙ וּתְאֵ֣נָתָ֔הּ אֲשֶׁ֣ר אָמְרָ֗ה אֶתְנָ֥ה הֵ֨מָּה֙ לִ֔י אֲשֶׁ֥ר נָֽתְנוּ־לִ֖י מְאַֽהֲבָ֑י וְשַׂמְתִּ֣ים לְיַ֔עַר וַאֲכָלָ֖תַם חַיַּ֥ת הַשָּׂדֶֽה׃
15 וּפָקַדְתִּ֣י עָלֶ֗יהָ אֶת־יְמֵ֤י הַבְּעָלִים֙ אֲשֶׁ֣ר תַּקְטִ֣יר לָהֶ֔ם וַתַּ֤עַד נִזְמָהּ֙ וְחֶלְיָתָ֔הּ וַתֵּ֖לֶךְ אַחֲרֵ֣י מְאַהֲבֶ֑יהָ וְאֹתִ֥י שָׁכְחָ֖ה נְאֻם־יְהוָֽה׃
16 לָכֵ֗ן הִנֵּ֤ה אָֽנֹכִי֙ מְפַתֶּ֔יהָ וְהֹֽלַכְתִּ֖יהָ הַמִּדְבָּ֑ר וְדִבַּרְתִּ֖י עַל־לִבָּֽהּ׃
17 וְנָתַ֨תִּי לָ֤הּ אֶת־כְּרָמֶ֨יהָ֙ מִשָּׁ֔ם וְאֶת־עֵ֥מֶק עָכ֖וֹר לְפֶ֣תַח תִּקְוָ֑ה וְעָ֤נְתָה שָּׁ֨מָּה֙ כִּימֵ֣י נְעוּרֶ֔יהָ וִּכְי֖וֹם עֲלֹתָ֥הּ מֵאֶֽרֶץ־מִצְרָֽיִם׃
18 וְהָיָ֤ה בַיּוֹם־הַהוּא֙ נְאֻם־יְהוָ֔ה תִּקְרְאִ֖י אִישִׁ֑י וְלֹֽא־תִקְרְאִי־לִ֥י ע֖וֹד בַּעְלִֽי׃

14. Then I will ravage1 her vine and her fig tree, about which she said2, “They are my harlot fees which my lovers3 gave4 to me.” So I will transform them5 into an overgrowth and an animal of the field will slay6 them.
15. Then I will punish7 her for the days of masters when she used to offer up8 to them and when she used to flaunt9 her ring and her jewelry and go after10 her lovers11, yet she forgot12 about me; utterance of the LORD.
16. Thus, behold I am persuading13 her and I will bring her14 to a barren place and will speak15 into her heart.
17. Then I will replace16 for her there her vineyard and her vale of trouble will become a door of hope. Then she will respond17 there as in the days of her youth and like the day of her departure18 from the land of Egypt.
18. And it will be19 in that day, utterance of the Lord, that she will call20 me husband and she will not call21 me just another of her masters.

Below I’ll parse the verbs and briefly discuss some of my syntactical choices if I have time and remember.

Footnotes

1. Hifil yqtl 1cs שמם
2. Qal qtl 3fs אמר
3. Piel ptc mp אהב
4. Qal qtl 3cp נתן
5. Qal qtl 1cs שים
6. Qal qtl 3fs אכל
7. Qal qtl 1cs פקד
8. Hifil yqtl 3fs קטד
9. Qal wyyqtl 3fs עדה
10. Qal wyyqtl 3fs הלך
11. Piel ptc mp +3fs אהב
12. Qal qtl 3fs שכח
13. Piel ptc ms + 3fs פתה
14. Hifil wqtl 1cs + 3fs הלך
15. Piel wqtl 1cs דבר
16. Qal wqtl 1cs נתן
17. Qal wqtl 3fs ענה
18. Qal inf confs +3fs עלה
19. Qal wqtl 3ms היה
20. Qal yqtl 3fs קרא
21. Qal yqtl 3fs קרא

Categories: Translating the Twelve | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

