2016 Reading Challenge: Peter and Wendy

The category of book I’ve been reading the last two weeks is: A book for children. The book I chose for this category was Peter and Wendy. Below you’ll find some information about the book, a summary, and some closing thoughts. If you’d like to skip straight to my ratings, click here.

Bibliographic Information: Barrie, J.M. Peter and Wendy. Kindle Version published in 2012. Originally published in 1911 

SummaryPeter and Wendy is a tale that, I suppose, many western people are familiar with. Peter Pan is a boy who never grows up and is imagined by lots of boys and girls. Eventually, Peter finds his way to the house of the Darlings and their 3 children: Wendy, John, and Michael. He eventually convinces them to fly (after teaching them how) to neverland–a place where people don’t grow old and there is a never ending feud among pirates, fairies, indians, and lost boys. The lost boys (of whom Peter is the leader) make Wendy their mother and allow John and Michael to join their ranks. While John and Michael begin to forget their past (and especially their mother and father), Wendy never does and after a battle with the pirates convinces them to return home, bringing the lost boys with them. Once home, the darlings adopt the boys and everyone grows up and moves on from neverland. Peter visits every so often and doesn’t seem to care that everyone else has become boring adults, since there are always new children to play with.

Recommendation:

8/10 This book was mostly ridiculous and fun. Most of the pages took only about 30 seconds to read and Barrie’s writing style is fairly flowing. Though I have this in the category of children there is a slight touch of language that many parents would probably prefer their younger children don’t hear (especially younger children. There is also some shock value to this perpetual child who does some adult things like slay and mock pirates. Aside from that, the book was a cute, fantastical story about the imagination of children and the rompings of a young boy who never grows up. Then (spoiler alert) Wendy grows up and it’s all sad from there on.

This book earns the “hey you are a long way from being grown up” banner.

Favorite quotes from the book:

‘”All I remember about my mother,” Nibs told them, “is that she often said to father, ‘Oh, how I wish I had a cheque-book of my own.’ I don’t know what a cheque-book is, but I should just love to give my mother one.”‘

About Hook “In his dark nature there was a touch of the feminine, as in all the great pirates, and it sometimes gave him intuitions.”

“‘The last thing he ever said to me was, “Just always be waiting for me, and then some night you will hear me crowing.”‘ ‘Yes.’ ‘But, alas, he forgot all about me.'”

Categories: 2016 Reading Challenege | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

