2016 Reading Challenge: Mountain Interval

The category of book I’ve been reading the last two weeks is: A book of poetry. The book I chose for this category was Mountain Interval. Below you’ll find some information about the book, a summary, and some closing thoughts. If you’d like to skip straight to my ratings, click here.

Bibliographic Information: Frost, Robert. Mountain Interval. Kindle Community: 2011.

Summary: There isn’t much to summarize in Frost’s Mountain Interval. It is a short collection of poems (30) ranging in length from a couple lines to a few pages. However make up for the lack of summary, because of the feelings this book conjured up in me, and because this was a book of poetry I decided to write my review in the form of a poem. I’m sorry and you’re welcome.

Recommendation: 4/10

When I chose this book to read I was quite excited.
Since “The Road Not Taken” was oft quoted I thought I’d be delighted
To hear what else Frost had to say about his mountain time.
I was unduly disappointed in the lack of meter.
Add that to lack of rhyming and devices of “not free verse”:
This is not on the list of poetic references of mine.

 

Here are some obligatory quotes from the book which I enjoyed more than others:

“A stranger to our yard, who looked the city,
Yet did in country fashion in that there
He sat and waited till he drew us out
A-buttoning coats to ask him who he was.”

“When there was no more lantern in the kitchen,
The fire got out through crannies in the stove
And danced in yellow wrigglers on the ceiling,
As much at home as if they’d always danced there.”

I award this book the “Please don’t give up on poetry because of this book (or my attempt at a poetic review)” bumper sticker.

Categories: 2016 Reading Challenege | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “2016 Reading Challenge: Mountain Interval

  1. Diane Rochat

    thanks dave, I may skip this one

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

