Translating the Twelve: Hosea 2:24-25

This week’s “Translating the Twelve” is Hosea 2:24-25 (2:22-23 in English)

24 וְהָאָ֣רֶץ תַּעֲנֶ֔ה אֶת־הַדָּגָ֖ן וְאֶת־הַתִּיר֣וֹשׁ וְאֶת־הַיִּצְהָ֑ר וְהֵ֖ם יַעֲנ֥וּ אֶֽת־יִזְרְעֶֽאל׃
25 וּזְרַעְתִּ֤יהָ לִּי֙ בָּאָ֔רֶץ וְרִֽחַמְתִּ֖י אֶת־לֹ֣א רֻחָ֑מָה וְאָמַרְתִּ֤י לְלֹֽא־עַמִּי֙ עַמִּי־אַ֔תָּה וְה֖וּא יֹאמַ֥ר אֱלֹהָֽי

24. And the earth will answer 1 the grain and the wine and the oil. Then they will answer 2 Jezreel.

25. Then I sowed her 3 for myself in the earth and I had compassion 4 on No Compassion. Then I said 5 to Not My People, “You are my people” And Not My People will respond 6  “You are my God.”

Below I’ll parse the verbs and briefly discuss some of my syntactical choices if I have time and remember.

Footnotes

1. Qal Yqtl 3rd feminine singular ענה it will answer

2. Qal Yqtl 3rd masculine plural ענה they will answer

3. Qal Qtl 1st common singular זרע I sowed

4. Qal Qtl 1st common singular רחם I had compassion

5. Qal Qtl 1st common singular אמר I said

6. Qal Yqtl 3rd masculine singular אמר they will respond

Categories: Translating the Twelve | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

